Take Aways; Study Abroad

“What study abroad has taught me” these are pretty chopping thoughts because I jotted them down as I learned them. I left them this way because they are better left ‘raw’.

I already knew I could ‘chef it up’ but being here really put my skills to the test. Nigerian, Italian, clean eating, I can do it all šŸ˜‰

Increased sense of direction. Having to pay attention so that you can find your way back because no one speaks English and you don’t have enough data for Google Maps.

Learning to say no: especially to peer pressure. Don’t get caught up in doing what others are doing. It was easier at Mason when I had more friends to choose from. But here it was like first semester of freshman year when you’re just getting to know people. Learning to balance was difficult at first but at the end of the day it’s all about respecting yourself and if they don’t understand that, oh well solo dolo.

Learned the value of the Body of Christ. How you truly can not do it alone. It was sooo difficult at first but with prayer God helped. I’ll be transparent: at first I was just like everyone else. I was ashamed but then I had a reality check – I gotta set myself apart cause I truly might be the only Christian they see here.

Confirmation: I have no problem enjoying my own company. #AmbivertLife

Money is a very sensitive subject.

It’s a bit scary how much holidays are monetized in America. Like clock-work: one holiday after another; advertisements everywhere.

Yolo, carpe diem alla that. To take very opportunity I have. When faced with two options I thought 1. Which is a (literally) once in a lifetime opportunity? 2. Does it go against my morals and beliefs?

To be more decisive !!! (if you know me personally you understand this one)

I.N.D.E.P.E.N.D.E.N.T: There won’t always be someone there to hold my hand.

How to cornrow I really tried though.

How to pack light. I’m looking at you, RyanAir.

Life experiences matter less without your loved ones.

Acknowledging my background. Accepting all three of my identities: Nigerian, American, black,.

Money management and sticking to your budget. Money does not grow on trees. Especially when you don’t have a source of income. Never want to be unemployed. Not having a source of income is no way to live. Budgeting is so hard with no income because no purchase is justifiable if there won’t be any money to replenish it.

Be anchored (to Christ) and decision-making will be much easier.

You don’t have to leave US to see diversity. A study abroad student from the States explained to me how many people don’t see Howard as diverse because it’s a HBCU. But to her it is vastly diverse because there are people from all over the United States. The culture of Americans in California greatly differs from that in those in Michigan and from that of those in New York. Diversity is everywhere. You just have to be keen to it.

Appreciate American education system. That’s all I’ma say about that.

“What does it profit a man to gain the world and lose his soul?”

“Idle mind is the devil’s playground” Being limited makes you lazy and restless and unmotivated. So much time wasted even on the things I would normally procrastinate with I had no desire to do i.e editing photos things – that should be fun became a task.

In 12 short months I will be a college graduate and starting a career. I will have bills to pay and have to live in the “real world”. I can not continue to be indecisive. All this dawned on me and really sank in while abroad.

Thoughts? Leave a comment!

