A Dam in the Amstel #DuffleBaggingEurope

20140306-210030.jpg

 

I didn’t go into Amsterdam with expectations as to not be disappointed like the previous two cities. And it partially worked.

The buildings are absolutely beautiful. Most of them have been maintained to keep their historic value. I love the 150+ canals on the Amstel River.

“Amsterdam took its name from the river. The city developed out of a small fishing village called “Amstelredam”, built in the 13th century alongside a dam at the mouth of the river. The town was granted city rights around 1300. The hamlet developed into the small town “Amsteldam”, which later became “Amsterdam”.”(Wikipedia & City Tour 😉 )

The hostel was pretty decent. I was glad to finally stay in a city for more than one day.

Everyone knows Amsterdam for the Red Light District and their CoffeeShops. What I didn’t know (and wish would be highlighted more) is the culture: history and art! Shameful but I didn’t know Amsterdam was home to Van Gogh and Rememberant. We didn’t go to any museums cause they cost about 15€ a piece 😒.

The next time I visit Amsterdam I will def go to a few museums. I actually wouldn’t mind going to Amsterdam with the parentals. Minus the weed & RLD, I think they’ll enjoy it was well. It would be great to go to the country side to visit the original windmills and learn about the wooden clogs etc.

Even the RLD has some interesting history. It started as a way for sailors to have female companions after traveling for long periods of time. Not sure how it turned into what it is today. Even if photos were allowed, I would not have taken any.

20140306-210859.jpg
Chicken Satay

The food in Amsterdam was GREAT. The Dutch colonized Indonesia and some west indie islands so there are many ethnic restaurants. Chicken satay is quite popular there – I had it twice (from two different establishments) because it is that good. This is most definitely the best food I’ve had in Europe thus far.

Amsterdam is bike city! I think that’s the first thing they teach their children: how to ride a bike. In most countries you look both directions once before you cross the street as to not get hit by a car. In Amsterdam, you look all directions five times for cars, trams, trains, busses and bikes! Literally they are everywhere it’s crazy. They win the road. And most of the time they don’t even alert you that they are approaching twww.

20140306-210449.jpg
Anne Frank House

Another place where even if photos were allowed I would not have taken any out of respect. After visiting the house, I realized that I have to revisit the Dairy of Anne Frank. When I first read it ( I think back in 7th grade) I was too young to actually understand what the significance of what I was reading.

The “best part” of the Frank House Museum was the end after leaving the Secret Annex. They had this interactive questionnaire about discrimination of different groups (homosexual, Muslim etc). It’s like one minute you’re angry about the Holocaust and the next you’re “back” to discriminating against another group. It was a real self check.

Overall I enjoyed Amsterdam. I most definitely will be visiting again and staying for more days. Next Stop: London, England.

Stay Safe,

Bee

20140306-205445.jpg
Dutch Pancake
20140306-205514.jpg
Walk to Wok! Best food place ever!
20140306-205556.jpg
On the bus tour
20140306-205619.jpg
Canal Tour at night – one of the many canals

20140306-225046.jpg

20140306-225123.jpg

20140306-225143.jpg
My new favorite hat 😀

20140306-225245.jpg
Modern windmill

Hope you enjoyed the photos

Xoxo

Thoughts? Leave a comment!

