Holy Grail: Traveling with Natural Hair

How do I pack hair products for five months without weighting down my suitcase?

This is the question I pondered since I bought my ticket. At home I put my hair products in three clear plastic drawers, example pictured below.

How I organize my products and tools at home/university

Now clearly, I can not take all that and still have space for clothes, shoes, etc.

Then I decided to take my own advice in a previous post and go with the basics. I decided I would take only 1 of each type of product. That is one shampoo, conditioner, and styler. Now as you will see below that did not exactly work out as planned but I was pretty darn close. I would say I did a good job in narrowing down my products.

What I brought

Products: 

Holy Grails
Holy Grail(s) Can you tell I like Shea Moisture?

Cleanse:

  • 1/3 bottle of Shea Moisture’s African Black Soap  Deep Cleansing Shampoo (for when I first take out my twist)
  • 1 Mini bottle of Shea Moisture’s Coconut & Hibiscus Curl & Shine Shampoo (just in case)

Condition:

  • ORS Olive Oil Replenishing Conditioner (for when I first take out my twist)
  • Shea Moisture’s Coconut & Hibiscus Cleansing Conditioning Cleanser (Co-Wash for my twist & HeatFreeHair)

Moisturize:

  • Mini bottle of Karen’s Body Beautiful Leave-In Conditioner
  • Shea Moisture’s Curl Enhancing Smoothie (for twist outs etc)
  • CurlyQueen’s Whip It Girl’s Whipped Shea Butter (not pictured; I also use this on my skin)

Seal:

  • JBCO
  • EVOO, Sweet Almond Oil, Tea Tree and Peppermint Oil mix (not pictured; I also use this on my skin)

Other:

Creme of Nature’s Argan Oil Perfect Edges (I still gotta be LAID right?)

Tools:

2Tools

I think the photo above is pretty self-explanatory. In the “products” photo, I have an empty spray bottle for water to spritz my hair. And just in case it doesn’t go without saying, I brought more than one bobby pin/ ponytail holder. But for the sake of making the photo pretty, I only included 1. 🙂

The Plan:

Right now I have Marley Twist in my hair. I plan to keep these in for  2-3months as long as they look good. I went with Marley twist because I really did not want too much manipulation with my hair. Especially for the first few months when I’m still settling down and adjusting to my new environment.

After I take out the twist, I’m going to wear my Heat Free Hair. This will give me the opportunity to be “poppin” and do some experimenting while keeping the manipulation on my hair at a minimum. Low manipulation is key to growth. In 2014, my focus will be on growth.  I start my last year of undergrad in August so I need to be well on my way to “swiiinging” aka shoulder length by May 2015.  I’ll focus more on blogging my length retention starting in the summer, as I’ll be back to where products are accessible and my schedule is predictable.

Prior to leaving, I did some research on “Natural Hair in France” but could not find much. My hope is that this helps someone out there. If you are a natural in France/Europe, I would love to hear your experiences.

Until Next Time,

Bee

Thoughts? Leave a comment!

