2014 Reading List

20131230-025257.jpg

I was such an avid reader; back in 7th, 8th 9th grade. Every night I would curl up with the likes of Junie B Jones or Addy, American Girl. I would image I was a Billings Girl from the Kate Brian’s Private series or perhaps part of the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. And don’t even get me started on the Chicken Soup for the [insert adjective] Soul…

Then came social media and a heavier academic load in 11th grade.

The only books I was picking up were the mandatory readings for AP World History and Literature. And it pretty much when downhill from there.

But something happened Fall 2013. It all started one September day I was staring at the “Fall for the Book” poster at work. I decided to visit the website and noticed Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, a Nigerian author was coming. Off course I had go!

I browsed the site some more and discovered that Maryland’s own Seth Goldman, founder of Honest Tea (& Honest Ade), will also be at Fall for the Book.

His event happened first. I was so captivated, I lost track of time and ended up being late to class. But that didn’t matter brcause I got a book, signature, picture and free drinks!

20131230-025846.jpg

20131230-030322.jpg
You can see we became friends quickly 😉

About a week later, was Chimamanda’s event. I loved everything about her – the way she spoke, carried herself, her demeanor. It was all just so elegantly beautiful. This signing wasn’t as personal as Seth’s (there were people far more enthused than me there) but nevertheless an impactful encounter. Even in our brief interaction, she seemed genuinely concerned about me as a young Nigerian woman living in America. Needless to say the next day I watched all the YouTube videos of her (I even posted one here, before Beyonce did haha) I hope I get another chance to meet her after I’ve finished reading all her books.

20131230-031902.jpg

So lets get into this list! (In no particular order)

    Chimamanda Adichie’s books

  • Half of a Yellow Sun
  • Americanah
  • The Thing Around your Neck (I actually might not read this in its entirety at once and just save it for when I’m in between books since its short stories.)
  • Seth Goldman’s Mission in a Bottle
  • Francis Chan’ CrazyLove
    – a friend recommend this to me in August. She said it literally changed the way she thought about living life as a Christian. And after reading the back cover alone, I believed her. What really sold me was seeing him minister at the Unashamed Conference.
  • Mark Batterson’s The Circle Maker
    I watched his speech/sermon at Liberty University’ convocation. I found the book in my house and figured it would be worth a read. I’m on chapter three and it’s amazing! Not to sound cliche or repetitive but this book will change the way you view prayer.
  • My Utmost for His Highest , Daily Devotional by Oswald Chambers. Asked around for a new devotional and this was recommended. Apparently it’s classic. Can’t wait to get into it.

Not a very extensive list but I gotta start from somewhere right?

I hope to post updates or thoughts on each book.

Have you read any of these books? I’d love to hear your thought!
What’s on your reading list for 2014?

2 thoughts on “2014 Reading List

Thoughts? Leave a comment!

