Feature Friday: Loc’d up – Meet Rinu

Tell us your name and where you are from?

My name is Rinu Kuranga. I was Born in London England, Moved to Bowie, MD now I reside in Atlanta, GA =]
How long have you been natural?

I’ve been natural on and off for the last couple of years but my
most recent “Big Chop” was November 12, 2010. I “accidentally” started my locks late spring of 2011. I wasn’t planning to lock them, I just kinda let it happen because ppl like my scruffy twists.


Describe your hair.

My hair is very thick and full but it listens when it’s treated right. lol
What is your hair regimen?

Last BC – Dec 2010

My hair regimen is very simple. I use herbal essence shampoo (because it smells good) and I deep condition every once in a while). I like to moisturize my scalp right after conditioning then I let my hair air dry.
What is your best hair advice?

The best hair advice i can give is… treat your hair like a gardener would treat a plant. Wash and condition when you need to and moisturize often.

Advice for new naturals?

Your hair is natural so let it be just that. Keep the products to a minimum; 1 shampoo, 1 conditioner, 1 moisturizer & 1 grease product if you have dry scalp. Don’t overwhelm your hair with a bunch of “natural” product. Keep it simple & light.
What is the strangest comment, request or hair story?

Probably one of the strangest hair comments i got was when I was letting my dreads lock and they were in the short bushy messy stage, a lot of people would ask my if it was my hair or one of those curly wigs. It never looked like it to me but I got that question/comment so many times.

 

Describe your fashion style.

My fashion style consists of a little bit of everything. One day I’m Vintage, next a tomboy, then boho. I like them all as long as I’m overly adorned with jewelry lol.
Fashion advice?

My fashion advice is find what you’re comfortable in and what “looks” good on you. There’s new trends surfacing all the time so why not experiment.

Thoughts? Leave a comment!

