Feature Friday

I was hoping to get a few guest bloggers but instead decided to start a feature friday. The first few feature will be about natural hair, but as I get the hang of things, I’ll try to branch out into fashion, politics, music and technology.  So let’s get to it.

Meet Wryan! Wryan is my friend from high school.


How long have you been natural? what’s the story behind that?
I’ve been natural my whole life. My mother never put chemicals in my hair, we always kept it braided. So I grew to love my hair the way it is and embrace my texture.
Describe your hair. My hair is slighty curly and very thick.
What is your hair regimen? I like to wash my hair after that,I section my hair and use a leave in conditioner, comb it through my hair then proceed to styling. I’m a big fan of twistouts. So after I’ve washed, I twist it up, take it out in the morning and voilà! There’s a bunch of curls everywhere.
What is your best hair advice? Keep it moisturized. It’s very important for girls with natural hair to keep our hair moisturized to promote growth and lessen frizz. It also makes the hair more tamable.
Advice for new naturals? Congratulations on embracing your natural hair. It’s amazing. It may be a difficult process at first, but being natural is all about trial and error. Try products (I like organic and shea butter based products) that work for you and give you adequate moisture. It may take a while also to find styles that work for you. I recommend Youtube. There are so many natural and transitioning women on Youtube who post advice about their journey and they also have hair tutorials.
What is the strangest comment, request or hair story?When I started to embrace my natural hair, I quit using heat and opted for styles I could do without heat. So I called myself sculpting my curls with some Eco Styler Gel. Well I didn’t realize that you should have your hair nice and moisturized before using gel. So I threw on the gel, tied my hair up and went to bed. When I woke up my hair was a crunchy mess, matted to my head and I had to go to school that same morning.
Anything else you would like to share? I love Shea Moisture products by Sofi Tucker. They smell so good and really do a great job moisturizing and controlling thick, curly hair. They sell at Target for $10.00 each.

3 thoughts on “Feature Friday

Thoughts? Leave a comment!

