Natural hair in Nigeria

Considering I’m Nigerian I found this as no surprise. My father isn’t too fond of my natural hair. Just two weeks ago I told him I wanted to wear my hair out ( I had been wearing a wig) and he said yea ok;he continued to tell me that when he was younger he had an afro (with a blow out). I was shocked at the way he just accepted it and made light of it as he walked out my room.  A few minutes later, he came back in my room and handed me a thick winter hat and scarf – to cover my hair off course.

Many people say that it’s the media that frowns upon natural hair but it’s also our own people. It’s time for change.

Natural hair in Nigeria – a review of the ‘Curls Allowed’ article written in the Guardian..

Original Article 

2 thoughts on “Natural hair in Nigeria

Thoughts? Leave a comment!

