Summer Hair Care: Ayurvedic

Summer Time 🙂

I know I promised a post about hair care so here it is finally! As you probably guessed from the title, I’ll be following an Ayurvedic hair regimen this summer. After some experimenting, I’ve decided to use a shampoo bar instead of powders. It takes a long time to wash out the shampoo powders because they are powder and not cream based. The shampoo bar I’m using is the same ingredients as the powder so it works out.

Godrej Shikakai Shampoo Bar with Amla Plus is pretty inexpensive. I ordered it from Amazon. I prepoo with Vatika Oil for 20mins before washing and my hair is always nice soft and clean afterwards. I will probably repurchase but am looking into trying other shampoo bars since I like this one so much.

For Conditioner I use Godrej Nupur Mehendi Powder 9 Herbs Blend which contains  Brahmi, Shikakai, Aloe Vera, Methi, Bhringraj, Amla, Neem, Hibiscus, and Jatamansi. I’ve used this about twice and its pretty nice. Since all this herbs are already mixed I save a lot of time because all I have to do is add water. I sometimes also add cheap conditioner like Herbal Essense Hello Hydration. At 3.99 (free shipping with Amazon Prime) I get about 4-6 in each bag, I think I will repurchase If I decide to continue a Ayurvedic routine.

Leave in. When I was doing research on Ayurvedic regime, I didn’t really see any Ayurvedic leave in conditioners so I set out to get store-bought leave in conditioner. I was initially using Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus Curl & Style Conditioning Milk. I actually bout it because it has Hibiscus in it which is an Ayurveda herb so I felt like I wasn’t cheating on my regimen 😉 I absolutely love this product. It leave my hair extremely soft and smelling good because I normally don’t like the smell of coconut oil. I can definitly see this and other Shea Moisture products in my future. I recently purchased Oyin Handmade Honey & Hemp Conditioner which can be used as a wash out or leave in but I like it better as leave in so I will be using both. I’ll probably do a review on Oyin Handmade later on.

Deep Conditioner: Shea Moisture Raw Shea Restorative Trauma Masque. I use this after I henna.  It can also be used as a leave in but I like it better as a DC because it makes my hair curlier. The texture is like whipped and I tend to use a lot so it just doesn’t work as a leave in for me. Although it a great product, I don’t know that I’ll be repurchasing because I feel like there’s something better out there.

moisture & seal: Vatika Coconut oil. Castor Oil, are the main ones I use. I usually use castor oil after the Shea moisture Leave In. I recently started nightly messages with EVOO and essential oils mix using the baggy method overnight because after wearing my hair out last week I’ve been experiencing some dryness.

That’s all I’ve got so far. With the exception of Honey & Hemp conditioner I haven’t bought any new products in about a month; and that’s only cause it was on sale. (yaay for me; trying NOT to be a product junkie) They only Non-Ayurvedic products I’m using are castor oil and the Deep conditioner. If anything changes I keep you posted. If you have any suggestions on products please feel free to comment below. 🙂

Thoughts? Leave a comment!

