What High SchoolTaught me

As on June 6.2011 I’m a high school graduate!  The keynote speaker, Lt Gov of Maryland Anthony Brown (sidenote he looks like Obama!) got me thinking about what I truly learned in high school. Most people will not remember what they learned in 10th grade Biology ( I sure don’t) but what keep going away with is social growth and some maturity. Now a lot of these things may sound cliché but they wouldn’t be clichés if they weren’t true.

I graduated high school feeling like I loafed academically and artistically. Now don’t get me wrong  I graduated with a 3.5 GPA but I honestly feel like I could have done better. The main thing I do regret is not getting involved. Freshman and junior year I was not a part of any club or activity. 10th grade I was in drama club and senior year I was in modeling, ASA, Bible Study and cheered for a few months. The main thing I wanted to do was run track but I never did because I felt it was too late joining spring of senior year.  From now on I will take advantage of every opportunity and try new things. You wont know you like something if you never try it.it looks great on college applications and  getting involved helps you make new friends.

Make friends with the awkward, quite kids in class. You know the saying that  you should be nice to nerd because the might be your boss someday? Well that girl who can’t dress in the back of the room maybe your best friend by the time you graduate.

Time management is key. You can never get a time back. A lot of times I missed out on opportunities because I didn’t management my time wisely. Do homework on time so you can go out.

High school drama is well high school drama. It wont last forever. So if you and your bff or bf get into an argument, just chill cause a month later you will have forgotten about it. Maybe its just me cause I don’t know how to hold grudges but trust whatever situation you’re in will pass. There’s no need to sit and over analyze what happened and what you should could woulda cause that’s just wasting your time.  For his anger lasts only a moment, but his favor lasts a lifetime; weeping may remain for a night, but rejoicing comes in the morning. Psalm 30:5

Don’t try to fit in. I feel all the Disney movies/ shows teaches how to fit in, show whats cool and whats not. But who’s really to say what is cool or lame? Everyone is weird in their own way so embrace you’re weirdness. It’ll come in handy one day- trust me.

Over the next couple of weeks I’ll be asking people who are currently in college or have graduated what advice they have for college freshmen on various topics so stay tuned for that.

-Bee

One thought on “What High SchoolTaught me

Thoughts? Leave a comment!

